Cardinal Titular Church of Sant’Andrea della Valle, established on 12 March 1960, by John XXIII.
On December 20, 1965 Pope Paul VI elevated it to the dignity of a minor basilica.
It is the church of the present General House of the Theatine Clerics Regular, founded in Rome on 14 September 1524, by St. Cajetan (San Gaetano di Thiene) and by the venerable Giampietro Caraffa, bishop of Chieti, later Paul IV.
In addition to its grandeur and beauty, which distinguishes it from other churches in Rome, the Theatine Basilica has, since 1623, the mortal remains of two popes, Pius II and Pius III; the relics of two Holy Martyrs, Antonio and Fortunato; and the relics of the body of Cardinal Saint Joseph Mary Tomasi transferred in 1971 from the Basilica of his title of Ss. Silvestro e Martini ai Monti
The memory of many other canonized saints who developed their sacred ministry here is venerated in this church.
Detailed description sheets of each of the environments of the church, will allow you to discover the precious legacy of those who, seeking above of all the Kingdom of God and his justice, set out, in erecting it, to worship the father in spirit and truth.
The Theatine Clerics are happy to offer this informative synthesis for a more profitable visit to the basilica.
Special solemnities or feast days:
The following festivities are celebrated with particular solemnity:
• January 3: Saint Joseph Mary Tomasi.
• May 8: Our Lady of Purity, patroness of the Teathine order.
• August 7 Saint Cajetan.
• November 10: Saint Andrew Avellino, cotitular.
• November 30: Saint Andrew the Apostle, titular.